Botox – round one

FROM THE ARCHIVE…

As Botox is a hot topic at the moment – I thought it would be good to share my notes on my experiences – these are unedited from the days after my treatments….

_______________________________________________________________________

28th May 2011

Ok…… I am going to be honest here – not a good day yesterday.

Why people do this for vanity is beyond me.

Ok I was feeling rather sick even before we started, but I was not panicking. The injections hurt, I cannot be any kinder, the ones in the forehead and neck really hurt, the ones at the side of the head where fine and the ones the shoulders where OK. The four in the neck felt just the same as the GNOB going in as it done with a long needle. (You will be pleased to know I did hold off hurling until we got to the station on the way home!)

Ok I was bit of a wuss and almost fainted twice (had to lay down for a bit) and yes I cried and finally swore at the doctor, after coming out with the full shakes – I was the first of the group to go and felt a little sorry for them having to hear me moan and then watch me come out in a bit of a mess :O.

Anyway, I have had a good nights sleep and have woke at a level 2 already My shoulders and neck are a little sore – feel like you have been gardening for a while. The forehead feels a little odd, but not painful, its like you have a piece of cardboard under the skin – feels tight. Thankfully the injections only cover about 1 – 1.5 cm each so I can still move my eyebrows.

Was it worth it……………… time will tell.

9 thoughts on “Botox – round one

  1. Doesn’t botox have mercury, thimersol in it? This can’t be good for women’s brains or cognition. Does Allergan’s botox have mercury in it? Are they disclosing this to customers and doctors?

    1. Hello there

      I have spoken to Allergen and no Botox does not have mercury in it. As part of the approval process in the UK they have to list everything which goes in to a medical product including all carriers, so nothing can be undisclosed.

  2. Thanks for the post. I have my first round on Friday and am not excited at all. The things we try in order to have some semblance of life is just amazing.

    1. Hi Lori

      I hope it went well for you – hang in there – it can sometimes get worse before better….. took a while to kick in with me for round one – I am now on round 5 and its amassing stuff 🙂

      1. I unfortuantely missed mine due to a last minute trip to the ER with one of the worst migraines I’ve ever had.. Lights and Sirens and everything. So hopefully I can try it this month since its my last month of insurance. If I can’t, then I will try a different route. Thank you for your explaination. It sounds like it really working for you. Congratulations

  3. No I haven’t. And now with no insurance I don’t see it happening anytime soon. It would have been nice to at least know if it worked or not. Someday.

      1. yeah….right now we’re just crossing our fingers for disability. if we get that then we can possibly get medicaid. then i’ll feel 50 million times better and get to go back to work. 🙂 That’s my short term goal. lol

Leave a Reply

